Adtulsian - Bioinformatics Pathway

A concise overview of things learned. Break it up into Technical Area, Tools, Soft Skills

• Technical Areas: I’ve learned how to read and understand scientific papers. I have also started learning more about computer science. Although I am not very familiar with the coding languages and usually take lots of time to code successfully.
  • Tools: I have used and have been using the webinars and notes from meetings to get caught up with everything I missed in the first week, especially in terms of the coding aspects of the internship. However, I am not very good at it.
  • Soft skills: I’ve been able to communicate with my team members and get to know the team and some people from other teams as well.

Three achievement highlights

1. Go to almost every meeting, and reading notes from the ones I missed.
  2. Learn more about basic coding
  3. Communicate and make connections with people.

List of meetings/ training attended including social team events

I went to almost every meeting this week while trying to catch up on what I missed from week one, especially the coding webinars that I missed. However, I missed the happy hour due to a scheduling conflict.

Goals for the upcoming week.

My goals for this week are to get a LinkedIn account and to connect with people through that platform; get proficient in R and Python; work more efficiently on the assignments that are given. Additionally, I’d like to try and get to know the members of the team better.

1 Like

A concise overview of things learned

• Technical Areas: I’ve learned how to use R better than before, however, I still am not very good at coding in R at least.

• Tools: I have used notes from meetings and other posts in the forum and the google drive to write the code for the week 3 deliverables.

• Soft skills: I have collaborated with my group and other groups effectively to ensure completion of the week 3 deliverables to our best ability.

1. I went to every meeting